153 Items No items selected
Baker and Jones 1996
Baker and Jones 1996
Rosa Baker and Rosemary Jones
'The Park and Gardens of Colomendy Hall'
Flintshire Historical Society Journal
Wales, UK
1996
Secondary published
Vol. 34, pp. 33-52 Colomendy lies to the south of the road from Mold to Ruthin in North Wales, at Loggerheads in the parish of Llanferres. It is currently owned by Liverpool City Council, who run it as a centre for outdoor education. Best known for its connections with Wilson, who died there in 1782, Colomendy Hall stands in a well-maintained landscaped park, with wooded pleasure grounds, where paths and steps lead round picturesque outcrops of carboniferous limestone. Less well known are the walled garden and its forgotten features, the important cast and wrought iron gates, the clapper bridge and the defile or sunken path leading to a tunnel of rustic rockwork, which frames a dramatic view of Moel Famau.